Music and Drawings



Let's not treat art like capitalists, now.

July 22 2024


Art is one of the best things on this planet. I don't need to explain why I feel that way; it's art! It's an imprint on the world meant to emulate or convey an aspect of the "human experience," or not. Anyone can be an artist, and with how much information we see in one day living in what's known as the information age, we literally can not avoid seeing or experiencing some form of art.

The online economy thrives on art. The furry fandom's commission economy alone rivals the GDP of some small countries (apparently)! The art industry is a sizeable chunk of the overall economy on the internet. I don't just mean drawings or animations, either. Films, Music, Games, E-books: they're all part of this. And that's what I fail to consider sometimes. I don't see music as part of it all. It's reasonable, but because of that, I'm led to believe that there is less music than there is art on the internet. That may be true. What I'm trying to say is that my perception of success in music is distorted because I, again, fail to consider how similar digital music is to digital art.

I am a music artist, and I have released an album and an EP or two elsewhere on the internet. I'm all about controlled identities, so I'm not sure I want to share what I have already released elsewhere here. I see myself releasing music here that won't make it on another album, probably. Stay tuned if you want to see that kind of thing.

But anyway, who am I to think that my music will ever blow up compared to more advanced artists? The market is incredibly saturated. If I look at my music as I look at digital artwork, I'm just another small-time deviantart user, such is all the art I make. I'm not an expert in the creation of any type of art. I need to tell myself that not so I prohibit my own progress, but to remind myself that there's a reason other people have some success as producers and music artists.

I don't often come to conclusions like this, so I'm glad I did this time. It feels humbling and philosophical. Perhaps this revelation will make me a better music artist because I won't care so much anymore about trying to learn all these specific mixing tricks and whatnot. Not like I was about to play the algorithms anyway; I'm not about to dedicate so much energy to a thing like that.

The more I see things in this light, the less I will care about views and the more I will do art for the hell of it. That's what it's all about anyway. Let's not treat art like capitalists, now.




yes you can use FL Studio as an internet browser it's the funniest thing ever