Xubuntu part Twobuntu



Yeah, no.

August 10 2024


I am right the fuck back on Windows. I've had enough fucking problems. I'm installing regular Ubuntu right now. It better fucking work. I'm so goddamn tired.

Within the last blog post, I've had at least two major issues that have just made me question why the hell I'm doing any of this. The App Center IS in fact complete shit and it froze my computer twice whilst trying to install Steam. Steam won't pick up my library on my external hard drive either, partly due to that issue where it doesn't mount automatically and for some odd reason I have to keep "repairing" my filesystem every now and then.

Another issue was with FL Studio. One of my VST plugins (I didn't even get around to testing them all) doesn't fucking update its display unless I resize the window for it. I paid 50 FUCKING DOLLARS FOR THIS VST. Unfortunately, I don't predict it will get much better on a different version of Ubuntu, but I know now not to change a setting or two on the plugin in FL that made it straight up not show. I see myself trying out the plugin in Ardour or something if I choose to try that out.

MY RATING:

2 Out of 5 stars. Xubuntu is NOT worth it. Use Lubuntu if you want something lightweight and simple instead.